Beauty / Review

Majolica Majorca Lash King

I have this minor “problem.” On occasion, despite having found an HG (Holy Grail) product, I’ll go out an try something new. That problem is why I’m currently working through a tube of Majolica Majorca‘s Lash King mascara.

I’d just finished a tube of my favorite Covergirl LastBlast Fusion, and had stopped by SM to get a new tube. I passed the Majolica Majorca counter one afternoon and saw that they were having a little promo. PHP 100 off all mascaras. That was enough to get me to stop at the counter. After 5 minutes of questioning the attendant, I ended up with a tube of Lash King, a waterproof, long-wearing mascara that promises enhanced length AND volume.

The formula is very dark, thin, and contains fibers, which are supposed to adhere to your lashes to help fatten them and increase their length by a few millimeters. It’s got an odd smell, not entirely unpleasant, that quickly dissipates after application. Lash King mascara has a traditional bristle brush, unlike the other variant available, Majolica Majorca Lash Expander Frame Plus, which has the strange plastic comb/wand applicator. Thus, no special technique is required for putting this on. The standard shimmy – swipe works. However, it is prone to awful clumping if you swipe this on more than once or twice. I discovered this after going over my paltry lashes a couple of times, trying to make sure all of them were coated. When applied in moderation, it did make my lashes look a little bit longer but it failed to add any volume to them.

The best and worst thing about this product is that it is long-wearing and waterproof. It is oppressively waterproof. It does not budge. While I have not tried it, I suspect that this mascara would survive bouts of crying and a shower. It REQUIRES the use of a proper makeup remover. Even when I used a cleansing oil and makeup remover, it took quite a bit of effort and product to get all the mascara off without pulling any lashes out.

Will I buy it again? No. once I’m done with this tube, I’ll be going back to my trusty tube of CG Lashblast Fusion, because it better suits my daily needs. (Volumizing, smudge-proof, and comes off with regular cleanser.)

Majolica Majorca Lash King costs PHP795 and is available at SM Department stores and Watsons.

Leave a Reply

