Beauty / Review

Vanicream Lite Lotion

Skin experts and doctors agree that every single person needs to put moisturizer to make sure that the skin (especially facial skin) is at its optimal condition. Yes, even people with really oily skin. If you choose wisely, it won’t exacerbate existing skin conditions like acne, and might even work towards healing and preventing new breakouts. In fact, some studies suggest that you can help lessen the oil slick on your face by  making putting on moisturizer, thus tricking your skin into slowing down the production of oil.

Last winter, while visiting my sister, I saw this pump bottle on her makeup bureau called Vanicream Lite Lotion. I asked her about it, and she told me that she uses that as her facial moisturizer during the summer months, as it is a lighter formulation, leaving heavier creams for winter. She told me to try it, and so I did. Long story short, I ended up bringing her half finished bottle home, as well as a new bottle.

From Vanicream’s Official Website, it describes Vanicream Lite Lotion as:

“A non-greasy, long-lasting moisturizing lotion that is easy-to-spread, quickly absorbed and non-comedogenic (does not cause blackheads). Also available as a cream.

Fragrance-free, lanolin-free, paraben-free, formaldehyde-free, gluten-free

Dermatologist recommended
Non-irritating, non-staining
Soothes red, irritated, cracking or itchy skin
Soothes and retards the blistering of sunburn
Use as a night cream and for massage
Free of common chemical irritants”

What I really like about this moisturizer is that it is a super reliable basic moisturizer with none of the frills. I used to use Olay’s Classic Care Beauty Fluid but I was starting to get really tired of the powdery scent. I usually use half a pump in the morning, under my makeup and a whole pump at night. Yes, that’s a lot of product, but I really like how you can pile it on at night and wake up to really plumped up skin which works great if you wear foundation.

A bottle this size cost around USD$15, and it will last you around 4-6 months, making it truly affordable. In fact, I think this is even cheaper than some of the local brands you can get in the groceries or drugstores.

If you feel that you need more moisture though, especially with dry skin, Vanicream also comes in regular strength. I’ve never tried it though, so I really compare the two formulas. By the way, if you read the information panel on the bottle, this lotion can also be used for the body!

ps. brother tried this out and loved it too, so now he has his own pump bottle at home!

Leave a Reply

