Web

Resolutions this 2013? Get Fit!

Every year, my resolution list includes “getting healthy,” and I have somewhat fulfilled that resolution to a certain degree (teenytiny as it is). This year I resolve to exercise smart, and eat clean.

With all the workouts available, I know that myself that unless these conditions are present, I won’t be able to stick with the said resolution.

Condition #1: It has to be some exercise I can do in the comforts of my room/home. I know I look super dumb doing exercises so I’d rather look dumb alone.

Condition #2: It has to be affordable, meaning I don’t have to buy a lot of weird equipment for it.

Condition #3: It has to be time-efficient, because if it takes too long, I know I won’t do it regularly.

Given these conditions, I conclude that an HIIT workout will be the best for me. According to Wikipedia:

“High-intensity interval training (HIIT), also called High-Intensity Intermittent Exercise (HIIE) or sprint interval training, is an enhanced form of interval training, an exercise strategy alternating periods of short intense anaerobic exercise with less-intense recovery periods. HIIT is a form of cardiovascular exercise. Usual HIIT sessions may vary from 9–20 minutes. These short, intense workouts provide improved athletic capacity and condition, improved glucose metabolism, and improved fat burning.”

BodyRock2

While there are a lot of HIIT workouts, I am gravitating towards BodyRock.tv. It is free, the site owners update a lot, and the community seems nice and supportive. And if you see the results from their members, WOW! long lean muscles (a bit too muscular for my taste though).

BodyRock1

 

Confession time though: I am really afraid to do these exercises because they look INTENSE. Hopefully though, I’d be able to start on this by February, and take small, baby steps towards a healthier 2013.

If you also want to try BodyRock, just go to their site and read through the Newbies section. Don’t forget to update me though, I’d love to hear from you guys!

Leave a Reply

