Food

Doughnut Plant NY

On my last day in the city, I just had to try the Doughnut Plant. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things from family and friends. Now, I have to confess that I really like doughnuts, especially the fried ones. What we have in Manila is very limited, usually just chain store doughnuts. I’ve tried making them myself, but had disappointing results.

The store was pretty simple, and they had cute doughnut pillows on the walls. It was quite full too, and my sister and I had to line up a bit.

Initially, I ordered a Creme Brulee doughnut (around $3), and was sad to see that it was tiny, maybe like 1.5 inches across. It had a burnt sugar topping that was nice and crisp, and when I bit into the doughnut, I got to taste the custard filling. It wasn’t too sweet and was quite enjoyable, but since it was too small, I had to have something else.

And so I lined up for a second time, ordering a PB&J Doughnut(again around $3). It was huge, bigger than my palm for sure. Upon inspection, it was a square doughnut with a hole in the middle. The top had a sugar glaze and a generous sprinkling of peanuts, and all this time I was thinking – Where is the jelly, right?

Apparently, the jelly is inside the doughnut, so each bite you had a bit of it. Delicious! Not too sweet, something that these chain store doughnuts have yet to learn. It had a good salty peanuty flavor. Totally worth the price in my opinion.

According to the store staff, all doughnuts are baked in their Chelsea location and delivered to this 2nd store, so if they run out of a flavor, you’ll just have to come back another day. While they don’t have a lot of flavors, they do quality doughnuts, taking care that each component is well executed.

*cross post from here!

Leave a Reply

